Gold pulls further back from 7-week highs; U.S. jobs data in focus By Investing.com

© Reuters. Gold pulls further back from 7-week highs

Investing.com – Gold prices drifted lower on Thursday to move further away from their strongest level in seven weeks as investors looked ahead to a key batch of U.S. economic data to gauge how it will impact the Federal Reserve’s view on monetary policy.

Comex for August were at $1,261.11 a troy ounce by 3:10AM ET (0710GMT), down $10.60, or about 0.8%. It touched its highest since June 14 at $1,273.30 earlier this week.

Prices of the yellow metal ended marginally lower , as a recent rally showed signs of fatigue.

Gold has been well-supported in recent weeks as for a third Fed rate hike this year combined with deepening political turmoil in the White House boosted the appeal of the precious metal.

Investors were turning their attention to upcoming U.S. economic data for fresh clues on the timing of the Fed’s balance sheet reduction and its ability to raise interest rates again this year.

Thursday’s data includes at 8:30AM ET (1230GMT), followed by the at 10AM ET (1400GMT). are also released at 10AM.

The U.S. report for July is due out on Friday.

Elsewhere on the Comex, slumped 22.1 cents, or around 1.3%, to $16.51 a troy ounce.

Among other precious metals, was down 0.4% at $950.00, while shed 0.7% to $885.60 an ounce.

Disclaimer: Fusion Media would like to remind you that the data contained in this website is not necessarily real-time nor accurate. All CFDs (stocks, indexes, futures) and Forex prices are not provided by exchanges but rather by market makers, and so prices may not be accurate and may differ from the actual market price, meaning prices are indicative and not appropriate for trading purposes. Therefore Fusion Media doesn`t bear any responsibility for any trading losses you might incur as a result of using this data.

Fusion Media or anyone involved with Fusion Media will not accept any liability for loss or damage as a result of reliance on the information including data, quotes, charts and buy/sell signals contained within this website. Please be fully informed regarding the risks and costs associated with trading the financial markets, it is one of the riskiest investment forms possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

7 + 9 =